Film processing

I found out today that they’re not doing 35mm film processing in our canteen anymore. It used to be, you could get lunch, and drop off your films to get processed at the same time. The canteen folks would fill in a form and send them to a processing lab, and you’d get your prints the next day. You could charge it to the same smart-card you bought your lunch with, and it was all hassle free. I guess this is a result of the world and its dog having digital cameras.

More DTrace experiments

Recent experiments having worked out quite well, I stumbled into another day-to-day use of DTrace – this time, the problem was an upgrade process that wasn’t behaving itself because of a known bug. So, rather than writing a shell script to run in the background polling for a process name and then killing it immediately, based on Jon’s example and reading a bit of the DTrace manual, I came up with :

#!/usr/sbin/dtrace -ws
proc:::exec-success
/execname == "regchrome"/
{
printf("pid %d: killing now... \n", pid);
raise(9);
}

As I wittily quipped to some others in the office, perhaps the raise() function could be aliased to raze() when called with the int argument 9 :-)

(note to self: this is probably the reason why I don’t get invited to parties anymore)

This didn’t take much work on my behalf, but it was terribly terribly handy. Maybe learning DTrace can be done the same way I learnt HTML, sort of by necessity : eg. “Hmmm, I wonder how I get all of these images to line up… (wander around the internet looking for nicely aligned images)”, etc.

