Haven’t done anything terribly interesting so far with my holidays – spent quite a while painting and tiling the bathroom (it’s not quite finished yet, but should be done sometime this morning). Grouting tiles takes a long time, especially when each tile is 2cm square.

I also have some Christmas decorations up, along with one or two outside lights, but nothing too extravagent.

We were up north this weekend at a family get together : my parents-in-law celebrated their 40th wedding anniversary, so got lots of photography practise there.

I finally caved in and bought a copy of NoiseNinja which managed to take a fairly noisey photo at iso 1600 and cleaned it up quite nicely : useful software to have around. Speaking of photography software, I’m also trying to get used to the new Canon DPP software – it’s definitely not as fast as the demo versions of CaptureOne I’d tried out, but it was free, which counts in it’s favour! I had been on the verge of buying a copy of the standard-edition of C1 until Phase One announced they were dropping the product : which meant to get the features I needed (primarily a batch queue of > 20 images), I would have needed to get the pro-edition, which I couldn’t justify spending the extra wad of cash. Perhaps if I ever start selling photos, I could make the extra investment. For now, I’m happy though.

