We’ve spent a fantastic Christmas here at the Foster household : for the first time, myself and the missus are hosting Christmas for the family in our house in Raheny. Mum, Dad, Dunc and Lyd have been here for the day, though we’re missing one family member : Glynn is spending Christmas down under – we miss him being around, but we’re managing to keep in touch all the same. We all went to church in Clontarf this morning, and have just eaten a terrific Christmas dinner – it’s been a good day. As one of my presents this year was a wireless access point, I’m sitting here writing this when I really should be paying attention to the the Harry Potter movie on TV – isn’t technology fabulous ? (need to play around a little more to see if I can get it working with the Solaris 10 laptop later this week – still using the brother’s powerbook at the moment)

I’m looking forward to the challenges next year will bring, at the same time being thankful for the opportunites last year brought along – as Alec says, I’m hoping that 2005 will see a happier, safer and more peaceful world.

Back into the office on the 4th Jan, so fingers crossed, things will start moving on the open-sourcing of our translation tools at that stage: it’ll be one of my big targets for the coming year and I’m going to give it my best shot. Until then though, I intend to kick back and enjoy the company of my friends and family.

