I’m a bit upset – the monitor for my s10 machine here at home has just given up the ghost. I was quite attached to it as well – a lovely 17″ Dell M770. I suspect that either the power supply, the on/off switch, or something in between have failed : I’ve tried it with several working power cables which function fine on other devices, but to no avail. The only other monitor I’ve got floating around the house is a little 15″ Packard Bell (cheapie) which can only manage 800×600 resolution, which is not ideal, but better than nothing I guess.

Pricing an equivalent monitor from dell.ie will set me back approx. 200 euro. Maybe there’s hope though, I’ve emailed Dell technical support to see how much this one will cost to repair, it’s almost certainly past it’s warranty date, according to the sticker, it was manufactured in 1999. Fingers crossed I’ll be able to get it repaired without breaking the bank, though to be honest, I’ve got a sinking feeling… It’d be lovely to get one of these but I think it’s probably a bit beyond my means, though if anyone out there wants to loan me one for a comprehensive test report on it’s compatibility with a Dell Optiplex GX110 running Solaris 10, let me know – I’d be happy to help !

