It’s been a while since I posted anything here – been somewhat busy
catching up on emails after our holidays in New Zealand (another photo I
took here,
if you’re interested) and then spent last week in Prague chatting with
the other guys working on the translation tools here : the photo on the
left was taken by me on the Charles
Bridge
in the city centre and somewhat relates to my topics
today.



Just noticed posts from Bryan
and Adam
about DTrace
on Java
. This is good for so many reasons, but in particular, it
leaves our translation tools with nowhere to hide, wrt. performance
problems ! Likewise, I really haven’t got an excuse now for not getting
stuck into learning DTrace since I suspect it’ll be wildly useful in my
day-to-day work : many thanks to all involved ! I sort of see DTrace as
a kind entity, casting it’s blessings over badly performing code
everywhere (hence the image, okay – it’s a stretch, but I really wanted
to come up with a reason for posting that photo ;-)



In other news, there’s been a lot of talk
about CDDL here on
blogs.sun.com, and I see that Claire’s
thoughts
have just been posted on Slashdot. This is good, I hope
there’s lots more debate on it, and really hope that some of the open
source folks who’ve been suspicious up till now will see that we’re
trying to do the right thing here. My take on it is similar to the
others expressed here : I believe that software patents, implemented
properly, are a good thing – and I think using a license that
acknowledges the issues is worthwhile and overdue. That’s about as far
as it goes though : I tend to get really annoyed by people when I
mention that we’re going to be open sourcing our translation tools, the very
first thing
a lot of them ask is “What’s the license going
to be”
– not other, much more relevant questions like, “What
do they do?”
or “How much code is there?”
or “How exactly will they help me?”. I guess some
people just have other priorities… I basically don’t care
what happens to the code – so long as you’re free to make changes, and
are obligated to give them back to the folks developing the code, that’s
enough for me : I want to leave the ins and outs of licenses to the
lawyers thankyou, I care about code, not small print. As Claire says,
it’s about the community not the license : well said, that woman.



If you have a chance, it might be worth reading Innovation
Happens Elsewhere
– from reading it, you can see why Sun (or any
business!) should be interested in open source software. I’ve read early
drafts of it, and it’s very well written : any time a manager asks me
why we’re looking to open source our translation tools, I just throw
this book at them. There was an article on sun.com
a while back that may also be of interest.


