Hmm, so a few people have contacted me in the last few days asking me to comment on a patent application on which I’m listed as co-inventor. I had a chat to some Sun legal folks, and it seems I’m not allowed to respond – end of story. Any questions about prior art need to be resolved by the respective Patent Offices, or Sun Legal and the disputer, from what I understand.

Now, that’s not to say that I don’t have opinions about software patents, why they’re useful, and at the same time, what’s wrong with the current process. Thankfully, I don’t have to launch into a large discussion of my point of view, and how my employer is actively working to deal with the situation, because the excellent Simon Phipps has already explained my personal and Sun’s corporate position far better than I ever could.

For the full story, read these (with still more detail in that last link above) :

… seriously folks – we’re the Good Guys here.

