Simon mentioned that AIB won an award for their deployment of open source software : while it may not have been mentioned at the ceremony (I dunno, I wasn’t there) I suspect a large credit for them winning the award should go to some of the engineers in the JDS group here at Sun, many of whom work in Dublin (my little brother is a member of that group, albeit a remote one). I suspect those guys provided a lot of support during the roll out : congratulations to all involved !

This is a notable thing : I’d really like to see more financial institutions following their lead, especially now that we’ve got such a good reference case to show people (AIB is one of the largest banks in the country) As a customer of several of these sorts of corporations myself, I’m happy that my money is being well spent.

