Item three done! I had actually installed the BrandZ bits on my OpenSolaris laptop on Christmas Eve, but didn’t really get much of a chance to explore it (preparations for Christmas day took precedence)

But, since I’m back down in Dublin as of last night, I’ve now got better internet access and a little more time on my hands, so I thought I’d play with it a bit more. First impressions are that it does exactly what it says on the tin. (which is an expression that I realise might be lost on anyone who doesn’t watch TV in these parts – sorry) Anyway, here’s a screenshot :


For some reason, the bundled version of Mozilla (as shown in that screenshot) wouldn’t allow me to log in to blogs.sun.com, so I downloaded a linux binary of the latest Firefox release, installed that and it seems to be working fine – in fact, I’m editing this blog entry from that very binary – the about: string says Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5. I do still seem to be getting some warnings from GLib and there’s a few user-interface oddities as a result, but otherwise the first non-bundled linux application I tried on a BrandZ zone works just fine…

If you’re interested, there’s more information about BrandZ on their FAQ.

Next stop, Unreal Tournament for linux :-) (though I’ll need to somehow shoehorn the GLX extension onto the Ferrari here – ATI, please can we have some decent 3D drivers for Solaris ? NVidia supports Solaris already!)

