Eric wrote a marvelous post about ZFS on laptops, which I think is not only an excellent position statement about the merits of ZFS running on things other than just multi-disk servers, but also a pretty good introduction to the capabilities of ZFS and how easy it is to administer.

I’m a fan of running ZFS on laptops & desktops as well – I’ve got 7 years worth of photos and 18gb of iTunes music backed up to a 160gb disk running ZFS at home. Knowing that my data is safe is pretty reassuring (though I really must buy a 2nd disk to make a mirror and thus sleep even more soundly, sorry Constantin I’ll get one eventually :-) )

I do take occasional backups to DVD as well, but ZFS gives me the confidence that when I’m doing those backups, I’m not backing up bits that have been silently corrupted – ZFS will show bit rot as checksum errors if it encounters these, even it if can’t fix them (in a non-redundant configuration). End-to-end checksums: another good reason to run ZFS on your laptop.

Anyway, nice post Eric!

