I’m going to FOSDEM, the Free and Open Source Software Developers’ European Meeting

I’m heading over to FOSDEM at the end of this week and am really looking forward to it. My task? To be an OpenSolaris guy on the ground, help out at the OpenSolaris table, and answer any questions you might have about the project.

Of course, secondary objectives include mussels & chips with stevel and perhaps a bit of tourism around Brussels in the evening if there’s any time to spare.

Hopefully, if I haven’t broken it by then (not a bet I’d take, by the way) I’ll also have with me my little Eee PC running OpenSolaris Developer Preview 2 – a 7″ laptop, booting a ZFS root filesystem from a 4gb SD card.

If people had told me 10 years ago that we’d have a free (in all senses of the word) Solaris-derived OS running on one of these machines, I’d probably have asked who’s round it was, but as I’ve said before, nothing beats a demo :-) If you’re over at FOSDEM, drop by the OpenSolaris stand and say “hi!”

