We last left our intrepid hero worn out having moved 1.5 tonnes of gravel. This weekend, the real work started. The weather held out thankfully, and I was able to hire a rotavator (a Briggs & Stratton-engined Electrolux Ursa 6 – nice model name, I thought) on Saturday morning, and spent the day ploughing my back garden. It was pretty heavy work, but it kept me out of trouble.

Today, I started the task of leveling the garden – there isn’t enough room to get a mini digger through to the back garden, so what I’ve done so far has been with a wheel barrow and a shovel, digging down about a foot in order to bring the garden level with the new patio steps. I’ve lots of topsoil now to make raised beds with, but that’s work for another weekend.

I’m not sure if I’m going to get any time in evenings this week to finish the digging: ZFS Root/Install, the next IE-OSUG meeting and likely a few other appointments sound like they’re going to keep me busy. So next weekend, I hope to get that part of the job done. Pictures below, for those keeping track:


Tim's garden re-leveling project


Tim's garden re-leveling project

