There’s two events coming up pretty soon that I wish I was able to attend:


The OpenSolaris developer Summit, May 2008


CommunityOne

Things have been pretty busy for me for the last few weeks. I’ve been helping with ZFS testing for putbacks to ON providing root filesystem support, and working on an ongoing putback for the same thing to the Install consolidation, helping test some backports of ZFS functionality to the next S10 update, and getting the opportunity to explore some new work stuff (which I’ll talk about more in a future post)

While all this has been going on, we’ve been trying to get ourselves organised for an upcoming 2 week family vacation – which means I’m going to miss both OpenSolaris Developer Summit and CommunityOne: both opportunities to meet up with lots of the OpenSolaris folks – going to miss you guys! The summit last October was a blast, and this one sounds like it’s going to be as good if not better, oh well.

On the plus side, I’m really looking forward to getting away for a while – it’s my sister’s wedding in Spain in May, and we’re heading off on Saturday to stay over there for a while and generally get some much needed downtime. Haven’t decided if I’m bringing a laptop or not, but leaning towards not at the moment!

Along with lots of QT with the missus and Bananas, I’m also looking forward to hanging out with the rest of the family, Gman included, who’s jetting over from New Zealand, via the aforementioned conferences.

So, while I do wish I was there, I’m also glad I’m not (in a weird kind of way) – but am very happy that
much of the summit will be recorded
, so hopefully I’ll be able to catch up when I’m back.

