I stumbled on this tip today on planet.gnome.org about how to tune what gets displayed on your favourite planet – this has made me extremely happy, as I now get to have a userContent.css file that says:

@-moz-document domain(planet.opensolaris.org) {
div.observatory div.person-info { display:none; }
div.observatory div.post { display:none; }
}

Why? Well, in it’s own words, “Planet OpenSolaris is a window into the world, work and lives of OpenSolaris hackers and contributors.” – more particularly, I don’t feel it’s the right place for documentation or marketing spiel about OpenSolaris – there’s other places for that.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m thrilled that those guys are writing content about OpenSolaris that Google will cache and end-users will benefit from – they’re doing a fantastic job! Personally though, I go to planet.opensolaris.org to read what people think: I don’t go there to read software documentation or watch hundreds of screen shots of installation wizards, let alone read about quintuple-boot setups (gak!). Come on guys – there’s got to be real people behind the marketeers?

So, to paraphrase Lt. Ripley, I vote we take off and userContent.css those entire posts from orbit. It’s the only way to be sure.

Of course, I could be wrong – if so, feel free to load your text editor of choice, and with feeling, type div.timf div.person-info ... I’ll totally understand!

