This has been a pretty exciting year for me – learning to deal with life as a
parent of two kids (it’s more than twice as hard as dealing with one, but just as enjoyable), spending 2 incredible weeks in NZ for Glynn & Jayne’s wedding,
getting myself a little more involved in the xVM codebase, working on a few
projects that taught me more about OpenSolaris, then for the last half of the year, learning Python & writing a
new tool to make xVM admin/config a lot more intuitive to Solaris administrators: virtcfg.
Combined with virtadm & its API written by johnlev, these
tools were a lot of fun to work on. I really hope they get to appear on opensolaris.org
at some point.

However, one of my favourite moments of 2009 was getting to cross the finish line of the 2009 Dublin Marathon, and seeing what this meant to people other than myself (which was a bit weird, but altogether lovely)

Next year is lining up to be pretty exciting too:
we’ve been granted preliminary
approval for residence Visas to New Zealand
: a few more bits of documentation to
dig up, and we’ll be moving the family to the Southern Hemisphere to see how we get on. The exact time-frame has yet to be decided, but it’ll likely be the first half of 2010.

At the same time, an opportunity came up to try my hand at something new: in 2010, I’ll be moving positions within Sun – still contributing to
Solaris, but just not on xVM. I’m looking forward to having another codebase to dig into, and a
learning curve I’m going to enjoy swooshing happily along.

Looking back, things I’m not so proud about include my lack of time to support
IE-OSUG,
and the vanishing

‘OpenSolaris news in review’
reports: I really hope
in the coming year these will get a new lease of life – any takers?

In the meantime, I hope you all have a wonderful 2010, and that whatever
happens, we all manage to end up this time next year having thoroughly enjoyed the ride.

